Never the right time – Take a leap

I don’t have the time. I don’t have enough money. I’ll get around to it eventually.

Sound familiar? What are you waiting for? What is stopping you?

I am inspired by a former student. She and her life partner have wanted to take a Ski Bum winter vacation some time. They bit the bullet to make it happen and are blissfully careening down powdery slopes as we speak.

I don’t want to ski. There are some things I do dream about. Going to Ireland. Extending my career toolbag with further big education. Being in an committed long-term relationship of equals that I can announce to world without stigma. Having another baby. Being a Grandmother….. I can’t do anything about the grandmother thing, that will be up to my son & his girl and they say they don’t plan on any. Having a partner who is married to someone else – I can’t convince the world on my own that he is not cheating on her (especially when she is publicly in the poly closet). Heavy sigh.

Having another baby myself. That I could do. In fact, Writer and I have agreed to spend the next three months discussing it. He’s been neutered. I’m sure my Baby envy will keep popping up here in the blog.

And Ireland. Writer wants to go back to London. So we are planning a trip to the UK for this summer. It will never be the right time. He is looking for career change having graduated as a journalist last year, so that will mean dropping to bottom of vacation hierarchy.. seems like this may be best shot before he gets that dream job. Financially I have no debt and the “if i get injured and can’t work for a year” cushion so a trip now would not put me in dire straights there, and I’m a couch-surfing adventurous  type of gal and would be willing to sleep on the cheap. I have no baby to worry about childcare or traveling with. So really, nothing to stop me.

Furthering my education. Today I dropped a wad on tuition for ADD Life Coaching training. Last year I was considering adding a kinesiology degree and taking up athletic training. But then realized that work is even more physically demanding than my current. Thinking long-term I needed to add something I can continue even if my body fails me. Class starts tomorrow morning. Wish me luck!

What do YOU want to do?  What are YOU waiting for?

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

