Auditory Apophenia – Phones and Ghosts

So I’m in the shower this morning when I swear I hear my phone ring. Turn off the water and listen. Nothing. Hope they left a message.

Turn the water back on to finish my indulgent Hollywood Shower. Such a delight when I tend to favor the Navy Shower.

Dried and dressed, I checked my phone. No message. Hmm. Not even a “missed call” notification. Chalk it up to auditory apophenia. I’m grateful I wasn’t expecting a call or I would have hurried out of the delicious water cascade into frustration.

Auditory apophenia is often cited as a reason for “hearing” ghosts.  In the book Paranormal Technology: Understanding the Science of Ghost Hunting the author discusses how most cases of EVP (Electronic Voice Phenomena) is the result of our minds interpreting meaningless sounds as the sound of spirits attempting to communicate.

To be honest, I’m glad all I heard in the white noise of the shower was my phone ringing. I haven’t been aware of any spirits hanging around this house, and unless they are my loved departed who visit now and then when I need them, I’d prefer the ghosts around me to keep to themselves.

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Apophenia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

