Out of the Mouths of Babes

Every parent has a moment when their child asks a question that paralyzes us for a moment, wishing they had asked anything other question in the world right then. Such was the case when fellow blogger sonjawalsh76’s young son asked her why she didn’t love Daddy any more.

For me that moment arrived mid-way through my son’s first-grade school year.

“Mommy, when are you going to leave Daddy and find a someone else to marry so I can have a little brother or sister?”

At the time he was one of the few children in his grade to be in an intact family that had never seen divorce, remarriage, half-siblings, step-siblings within the “nuclear family unit.” He really, really wanted a little brother or sister, and I had recently caved to the husband’s demands to give permission to the Navy to give him the big snip, even though I too really, really wanted another child in my family.

To be honest, I don’t recall the words I used to soothe him. I wanted to burst into tears that he said so easily what I could not.

Out of the mouths of babes.

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Baby Fever and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out of the Mouths of Babes

  1. What a question from your child. Wow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

