Body Image Issues are NOT Just the Realm of Women

I love the video above featuring Avi Kaplan singing Meghan Trainor’s “All About That Bass.” Avi’s refreshing take on the song reverses gender from the original.

What ever size you are, regardless of your gender, you are beautiful. If you are not happy with your body, is it because of how you think other perceive you or is it personal preference?

I’ve been skinny, too skinny. The Navy required me to gain weight to join. I never want to go back to that extreme. I had no stamina. Heavy winds could literally blow me over.  As a friend once commented in a gentleman’s club, “If I wanted ribs, I would have gone to a BBQ joint.”

I’ve been fat – very fat. After my divorce, I shed over 120 pounds, and no – that was not the weight of the man. I don’t want to back to that extreme either – my knees hurt, I lost my breath when doing simple tasks like dragging a deer out of the woods, I did not like to even look in the mirror.

Today, I am still aware of my weight, and yes I would like like to reduce my waist size a few inches after my holiday chocolate binges to have more clothing options. But I’m comfortable in my body. I feel healthy. I like my body.

Body issues can come in the form of weight, gender, (dis)ability, and so much more. I’m reminded of sage financial advice: The happiest people are not the rich, the happiest, most fulfilled people are those who appreciate what they do have, rather that what they do not have.

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Gender Identity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

