Third Call for a Reason Not to Let Go

I’ve let go of Writer as much as I can, but he is still in my heart. I’m a fool, you see. I don’t want to let go. Tonight I was ready to let go, and burn the bridge of allowing him space in my heart. Via text, because he denied me the call he agreed to make after his counseling session today, I told him so and told him he could prevent it by offering me one tangible reason not to, offer something real, action plan, admission, real apology, something that says I am not an utter fool for not letting go.

After many tangents and three requests, I said the third was his last call for the rest of his life.

His response, ” I apologize again for what I’ve done wrong in our relationship and the hurt I’ve caused you.” Followed a few minutes later with, “Please forgive me.”

It’s a start, even if it just feels like platitudes. It bought him some time, and perhaps on his own he can deliver a meaningful apology. But what would a meaningful apology look like to me? Watch for my next post, to be titled How to Apologize: It’s Not as Simple as Saying I’m Sorry

What does a meaningful apology look like to you?

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Healing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

