The Many Lies I Tell

“I worked at no longer lying and was shocked by all the ways I lied. ”   
Excerpted from Rule #1 – http://wp.me/p4w6Vc-jQ

When I left my ex, I and was no longer tied to his requirement of lies and deceit around polyamory, I swore I would no longer lie. And I haven’t about that. For the most part, I try to tell the truth for the simple face that I suck at lying. I don’t have a good enough memory to recall who I told what (changing stories is a hallmark of lies).

The blog post referenced above got me thinking of all the ways I do continue to lie.

I have a professional career, and lie to my clients when they ask me how I am doing. They don’t really care, its not pertinent to the services they get, and they may run screaming the other way if they ever heard the uncensored truth.

I omit details when my mother asks how I am doing. I don’t want her to know the truth about Writer or my pain.

I’m considering lying to my therapist. I’ve always been honest in answering the have you had any thoughts of harming yourself. Because I’m not going to, and I hate wasting the five minutes she grills me every session.. Yes the thoughts have come, been recognized and quickly dismissed. Kind of like driving past a KFC and smelling the chicken air and thinking how delicious the original recipe is, but knowing you don’t want the extra calories or to spend the money, and half a block down the road you aren’t even aware the thought had crossed your mind.

There are times when TMI is really TMI. And there are times when Truth requires full disclosure in all the gory details.

For the most part, with real friends, I just let the facts flow on everything save Writer. I tell my truth (you may see it through a different lense and have your own truth)

How to find the balance?

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Dating, Healing, Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

