Without Context

“I’ve come to realize it just doesn’t mean anything without some sort of context. And that’s what she was, my context”

Quote from the movie A Perfect Man

I’ve lost my context.
Except even if I had him back, I would still have no context. It was built on lies and deceptions that I believed, and wanted to believe.

If you’ve lost your context too,
There’s a good article from the New York Times, The Great Betrayal. The final paragraph of the article reads:

As a psychiatrist, I can tell you that it’s often a painstaking process to reconstruct a coherent personal history piece by piece — one that acknowledges the deception while reaffirming the actual life experience. Yet it’s work that needs to be done. Moving forward in life is hard or even, at times, impossible, without owning a narrative of one’s past. Isak Dinesen has been quoted as saying “all sorrows can be borne if you put them in a story or tell a story about them.” Perhaps robbing someone of his or her story is the greatest betrayal of all.

Give the whole article a read, and let me know what you thought of it.

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Healing, Sex addiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

