Surgery – a Cinquain Poem

More loss,
Is it coming?
Another friend may die;
Docs say it’s a one in ten chance.
Don’t go.

 

I’ve had so much loss in my life lately.
My closest friend and confidant is scheduled for surgery in less than a month.
He was never more than a platonic friend, and I love him.
Always there for me, never asking – always appeared by my side when I needed someone.
How can I be strong for him, and his wife, when I am so afraid he will leave me too?

I have no one close I can share my fears with.
Ex-hubby, I never could share emotional turmoil with – I divorced him.
My Grumpy, passed away.
Mother, not to be trusted with my heart.
Writer, I finally feel nothing for.
Empty nest.
Teacher, I wish I were closer to him, to be able to put my head on his shoulder, cry, and be comforted. Not there yet.

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Apophenia, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

