Father of the Year

Last night I was up until 330am.
I hadn’t intended to be. In fact I had poured myself an infrequent glass of wine and settled in for the night to catch up on friends via Facebook. Then at 10pm I saw a post from Girboy (Writer’s daughter) begging for assistance moving as they she and her girlfriend to be out of their old apartment that night.

Writer’s wife had blocked my on Facebook, so I only saw Girboy’s replies to her, and figured out that Writer had declined to assist. So I offered to help.

It took the three of us with two vehicles until 3am to move everything the mile to their new place. That was four hours of work.

Find out Writer said he could have helped had he known earlier. What i don’t get is that even if Writer had been scheduled to work this morning, had he bopped over when Girboy asked and was communicating with the mother, they would have been done by the time I ended up arriving, and been hone in bed earlier than he often did on similar nights when he lived with me. Even if he had lent two hours of assistance Girboy would have been in a better position.

Yes, Girboy was neglectful in not starting earlier or asking for help sooner. Writer knows that the the child has ADD and anxiety.

Writer picks the crappiest times and ways to try to instill responsibility and dealing with consequences in his child.

I am so proud of Girboy for coming out as trans, for moving in with her girlfriend, for overcoming anxiety to get her first job since high school, for so much.

She is no longer my defacto step-daughter, yet that does not stop me from caring about her and helping where I am able when she is in true need.

And some people just suck.

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

