Cancer Sucks – A GoodBye

PolyBuddy got a whole new box of crayons today, and a whole new universe as his canvas.

cancer-sucks

Cancer Sucks.

I’m happy that I was a happy friend for him. One he could share frustrations with. I had shared a post (The Best Gift for Someone Suffering) from about a year ago about  how to act around someone  in a difficult situation (medical, emotional, etc), and he really appreciate it. I gave him permission to share it (without attributing it to the IRL me) with the asshats who consistently asked “how are you doing?” and focused on his medical situation and impending death. I’m grateful I was able to spend out time chatting about other happy things, and letting him bring up the health when he wanted to share and not because I was nosy about it.

Polybuddy was one of only two people who know that this is my blog. I trusted him that much.

We weren’t a couple. We cared about each other. And I am grateful for happy memories of a relationship that never hurt me. Whenever I pull out a box of crayons or eat mint m&m’s, I will be reminded of someone who cared.

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Dating, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cancer Sucks – A GoodBye

  1. savingshards says:

    What a special person. Special relationship. I’m glad you had this in your life, and I’m really sorry Polybuddy isn’t here now. Thank you for helping us understand.HUGS.

    Like

  2. I had a friend who died from brain cancer. He was Losers’ friend but was the only one who was truly mine as well. I looked after him until he died but I didn’t treat him any differently than as if he had been well. We talked and laughed. We never cried and until the end he used to say “I think I can beat this.” I knew he couldn’t but I was his staunchest cheerleader. So sorry about your Polybuddy. He was lucky to have had a friend like you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

