Assisted Suicide Thoughts

A comment on a 2014 Washington Post article discussing assisted suicide in Switzerland eloquently sums up my beliefs behind  being my being in favor of legalizing the practice in the US:

“I

have no desire to end up as, let’s be frank, a pet – caged, visited by my owners who I don’t recognize, and kept alive for their pleasure or because of their superstitions.

I have an uncle who wishes to die. His wife, my aunt is keeping him alive for herself. He is blind. His body is shot. In his moments of mental clarity he has clarity he tells anyone who listens that he dies not wish this, and welcomes the end, that he wishes to die. Yet she forces him to receive blood transfusions to keep him alive.

I can totally get not wanting to “lose” the one you love, to face suddenly being alone. I KNOW the despair if not having someone to share life with. And yet I feel she is being selfish.

I’ve said it before on this blog that my golden rule is not to treat others as I would like them to treat me, but to treat them as they would like to be treated. That is the utmost respect.

If I were in my uncle:s body and mind, I would welcome the opportunity to end my life with dignity. Let me die.  Don’t cage me and treat me as your pet for your selfish reasons.. Let me go while you have time to find happiness with another, you can cherish that I haven’t sucked the joy, out of your life by lingering.

What are your thoughts?

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Assisted Suicide Thoughts

  1. Assisted suicide is the most fundamental human right.

    The fact people are forced to live and don’t have an easy exit is grotesque. What kind of sick culture forces people to live?

    I’m only 21 but I’ve had enough of life. I’m bored. I missed out on too much and I carry too many memories I don’t want. I want out. Why can’t I?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can you imagine the horror of being trapped in a life of pain and suffering that you no longer want to endure? I agree that it would be difficult to let somebody you love “go” but selfishness should be put aside and the comfort and wishes of the ill should be considered and honored.
    Would I do it? I don’t think anybody could really give an honest answer unless and until they were faced with the reality of the question. Would I ask somebody to do it? Probably but I would be concerned that they would go to jail for “helping me.”
    The system doesn’t have a problem with “putting people to death” for crimes but they seem to have a problem with “letting” somebody die with some semblance of their idea of dignity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

