My Experience Staying Safe Using Craigslist – part 1

Meeting anyone you have met online for any purpose can be scary.

One local police department dedicated part of their parking lot to a video monitored online sales exchange location. I thought that was pretty cool, though it does nothing to add to online dating safety.

Next month o am taking vacation out of state, and my hostess will be working long hours for much of it. So, unlike me, I posted an ad on Craigslist.

I have posted once before, for someone to, shall we say, attend to my breasts, and took it down within minutes our of feat and self-loading. This ad was seeking a gentleman for one or more days to pretend we are a couple, walk holding hands, engage in verbal foreplay, hit a beach and tease each other in the water, written such that it was not guaranteeing sex. I did request they tell me about themselves and include a pic on reply.

In the few hours the ad was up, o recieved well over a hundred replies .

Easy enough to cull out the dick pics, and “let’s do this” replies, those were the majority. Then the ones without a photo or the offer to send one on a second reply. This left me with about 20 remaining.

Next step was to check the images on tineye and Google image search for hits.

Only a few had hits, and none blatantly appeared to be scammers unlike most dating sites where I amazed how many do not pass the image search test.

I followed each. One gentleman used the image for his profile on an exercise website – what he wrote there eliminated him from the running. Another gentleman used the image on his profile at disqus (service used by websites for commenting), so from being able to see his comments on many topics and articles I was able to learn quite a bit about this handsome gentleman and move him near the top of my list.

More later….

About Apophenias

I'm human. Female. Self-employed. Searching for connections in the randomness of life. Currently residing the US. ... And not quite defined by being in the midst of a biological ticking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment